Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > Some questions on the various Landing Systems.
Some questions on the various Landing Systems.
Flying - Flying the Plane
Tuesday, 11 December 2007 20:52

Hi Captain Lim,

I have some general questions regarding the Landing System of an airplane. Many of the new types of landing systems are getting installed on modern aircraft like the A320/A340/B777. The traditional one being the ILS (Instrument Landing system). We have now MLS (Microwave Landing System) and GLS (GPS Landing System).

1. Can you use more than one system to land the aircraft at a time?

2. Suppose you are preparing for an approach, which one of the system do you select among the above to land? What is the criteria of selection?

3. I know that you tune the ILS and the course in the "RAD NAV" Page of the FMS and press the "APPR" button to fly to the center of localizer and G/S. Which one of the above systems (ILS/MLS/GPS) would land the plane?

Thanks and warmest regards,

Srihari J

Hi Srihari,

Let me touch on the Landing System briefly before I answer your questions.

The Microwave Landing System (MLS) was adopted by ICAO some years back as