Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Becoming a Pilot > Please help me to choose the right flying school...
Please help me to choose the right flying school...
Pilot Career - Becoming a Pilot
Wednesday, 19 March 2008 12:51

Dear Captain Lim,

I have always aspired to become a pilot ever since I was young. I have just completed High School in Malaysia with distinction in English and Maths and B's in other Science subjects. I want to enroll in a flying school to realize my dream of becoming a commercial airline pilot.

The dilemma that I am currently facing is choosing the right flying school.

Right now I have two choices:

1. Apply to Flight Training Adelaide, a flying school in Australia.

or

2. Apply to a flying school in Malaysia.

I recently called up DCA (Department of Civil Aviation of Malaysia) to inquire whether I would be able to fly for an airline in Malaysia if I enrolled in the flying school in Australia. The answer was NO, as the DCA does not recognize the license.

On the other hand, if I applied to the Australian flying school and obtained the CPL, would I be able to fly for an Australian airline as I understand that graduates from the airline academies in Australia would stand a better chance.