What happens if I ge
I have seen a comment from a Flight attendant that

What are the eyesigh
Captain, I am in class 11 in India and want to bec

What are the eyesigh
PLEASE stop asking about your eyes!!! Read the art

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Becoming a Pilot > A self-sponsored cadet pilot sharing his experience at Swinburne University.
A self-sponsored cadet pilot sharing his experience at Swinburne University.
Pilot Career - Becoming a Pilot
Sunday, 16 December 2007 19:11

Hi Capt Lim,

This is a response to "Is there a quota imposed on the passing rate in a Flying Training School?" in previous FAQ.

I am currently attending Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne for my Bachelor of Aviation course. I am in my final year and in my course, I have to balance between university course work with flying, and government theory exams (also known as CASA exams) throughout the three years.

As you have said, flying aptitude is probably the most important attribute to any pilot. One must be motivated to fly. It is the motivation that defines one's character to fly safely in an aircraft. Different people have different motivations to flying. For me, I love the challenge that is portrayed to me in flying, while some of my classmates love aerobatic flying. Hence their motivation is to do every maneuver with great accuracy and precision.

In my course I have grown more matured as a person and as a pilot. I remembered that during my first year in the university, I always walked around in the flying school with undone up tie, unpolished shoes and messy hair (I guess I thought that I was still in high school, ha ha!). Today, I walk in the opposite, having pride of what I do and in my uniform.