Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Becoming a Pilot > Is every airline pilot a genius or can an average guy get through by hard work?
Is every airline pilot a genius or can an average guy get through by hard work?
Pilot Career - Becoming a Pilot
Saturday, 29 October 2005 09:22

Dear Capt Lim,

I am from India and a great fan of your site. I have been surfing it for the last 2 months.

Please advise me on the following:

I am now enrolled in a flight school in California and am very confident about getting the FAA CPL+ MER, then a conversion to Indian CPL (Commercial Pilot License). I hold a current FAA Class 1 Medical Student Pilot Certificate and will apply for my Visa in October. I know about the bright and dark aspects of this career, but only one risk factor was unknown to me until last week. Since I have discovered it, I am literally sleepless!

It*s about the type-rating exams. I have heard about a lady pilot from Air Deccan. She got selected for the Airbus A320 course, paid Rs.22.5 Lakhs (US$51000), went to the Airbus Training Institute, Toulouse, France. She failed the exams and wasted all the money. Now, she is paying another 10 Lakhs (US$23000) for her ATR rating.