Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Becoming a Pilot > What is the future for an aspiring pilot today?
What is the future for an aspiring pilot today?
Pilot Career - Becoming a Pilot
Friday, 17 February 2006 04:58

Dear Capt Lim,

I have not had the chance to extend my deepest gratitude to you for answering my previous question on
why a captain sits on the left hand side of the aircraft. I am currently in a fix and I hope to get your personal and professional advice.

I am in the midst of preparing (at the age of 31) to take up the CPL complete with ATPL course. Unfortunately, I do not have the basic requirements - Maths and Physics. However, I am giving it a go with some help of a former pilot. Worst come to worst, I will take up my PPL first and then get into the CPL course.

This former pilot friend had advised me not to even start thinking about taking up the flying course and make it as a career. He told me that it was nothing great, and that you don*t have a chance to fly the aircraft manually as the computer does everything. That is why the job is boring. You virtually don*t do anything in the cockpit besides checking the instruments. How do you keep yourself busy and motivated while flying in the cockpit with the autopilot on?