Latest Comment

Vomiting on long hau
I have traveled a lot (almost 2 million miles) the

Can you become an ai
Hi captain , I had an accident 15 yrs ago and ha

Does a jet aircraft
Reading through the comments was both entertaining

Does a jet aircraft
So many nonsense here... Earth isn't flat. Period.

What are the cruisin
"how in the hell can you reach JFK if you leave fr

What are the eyesigh
tjsoihsdojfsioufs f post

What are the procedu
Hello Sir, I am currently B737NG Cpt.TRI /TRE hol

Could an A320 pilot
I plan to do ATR 72 -600 type rating , for that be

Is there less turbul
Flying from San Francisco to Philippines, end of M

What you have to do
Hi Capt . Im a grade 12 student and i really want

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Air Travel > Would the cabin crew inform the captain if there were a tail strike?
Would the cabin crew inform the captain if there were a tail strike?
Flying - Air Travel
Tuesday, 13 December 2005 02:58

Hi Captain Lim,

Firstly I would like to thank you for the amazing array of information available on your site. Believe me, it has put my mind at ease. I recently took my annual 2-week holiday from the UK to Barbados. I have never been a nervous flyer until my return flight.

Leaving the UK with Virgin Atlantic on a 747-400, and having flown this route 3 times before, I was relaxed and comfortable on the outbound flight until we hit turbulence about 2 hours into the flight. The sudden drop in altitude caused me to pull hard against my seatbelt (which I*m glad I was wearing) and lifted my legs from the floor to above my waist and tossed us around a little. It also caused screams and panic from other passengers. When the turbulence calmed down, the captain announced it was due to the plane moving into the jet stream. Is this not something you should avoid doing if it will cause such turbulence or is there no way of knowing?